Failure to Accurately Assess and Document Mechanical Lift Sling Sizes for Two Residents
Summary
The deficiency involves the facility’s failure to ensure accurate, comprehensive assessments and care planning for full body mechanical lift sling sizing according to the manufacturer’s guidelines for two residents. The manufacturer’s Sling Selection Guide required sling size selection based on both height and weight, emphasizing the importance of using the correct size and proper fit prior to lifting. Despite this, facility staff and leadership described sling selection practices that relied primarily on resident weight and did not consistently incorporate height, and there was no clear, documented process in the care plans or other nursing documents specifying sling sizes for individual residents. One resident (R2) had paraplegia, fractures of the right tibia and fibula with routine healing, reduced mobility, weakness, and adult failure to thrive. R2’s MDS showed no cognitive issues, bilateral lower extremity impairment, dependence on staff for dressing, turning, and transfers, and use of a wheelchair, with a recorded weight of 235 lbs and height of 69 inches. R2’s ADL care plan identified total dependence of two staff with a Hoyer lift for transfers but did not specify the sling size to be used. The Lift Mobility Status assessment for R2 documented that the resident could not stand, pivot, or walk and would continue to use a full lift with two staff assist, but it did not include the resident’s height, weight, or required sling size. Another resident (R4) had diagnoses including lumbar spondylosis without myelopathy or radiculopathy, muscle weakness, unsteadiness on feet, and spinal stenosis. R4’s MDS indicated no cognitive issues, substantial assistance needed for bed mobility and sitting/standing transitions, and dependence on staff for transfers, with a recorded weight of 220 lbs and height of 71 inches. R4’s Lift Mobility Status assessment stated the resident could not stand, pivot, or walk, could tolerate a semi-reclined position, and required a Hoyer lift, but it inaccurately listed the resident’s weight as between 376–420 lbs and did not identify the sling size. R4’s ADL care plan documented dependence for transfers but did not specify sling size or transfer device. Staff interviews revealed inconsistent understanding of who determined sling size and how it was documented, with NAs and the DON indicating reliance on weight alone and reference to a sling size guide in a storage closet, while the DON confirmed that sling sizes were not in care plans or the NA binder.
Penalty
Resources
Below are regulatory guidelines relevant to this citation:
Trusted data from CMS and state health departments
Every citation, penalty and Plan of Correction is sourced from public CMS records (latest release August 26, 2026) and official state health department websites — never guesswork.
In your survey window? See what surveyors are citing.
The Survey-Prep Report maps your facility's risk from 12 months of CMS and state citation data — what's being cited around you and what to check first. $129 one-time.