Failure to Report and Investigate Serious Injury of Unknown Origin
Summary
The deficiency involves the facility’s failure to immediately report an injury of unknown source that resulted in serious bodily injury to the State Agency (SA) within the required 2-hour timeframe and to conduct a formal investigation into the origin of the injury. The resident was admitted on 02/02/26, and the Nursing Admission Tool completed that day documented several skin conditions, including a rash on the lower back, a scab on the tip of the nose, and toenail issues, but no bruising or swelling to the right lower extremity (RLE). A progress note entered at midnight on 02/03/26 documented that staff called the resident’s power of attorney to inform them of bruising to the RLE, which was not present on the admission assessment, indicating a new injury occurring after admission with no identified source at that time. A subsequent progress note on 02/03/26 at 5:00 PM described a bruise to the RLE below the knee measuring 20 cm by 7 cm, with the resident unable to recall how it occurred, and a photograph taken at 5:03 PM showed dark red bruising with additional yellow/purple bruising extending from below the knee to the shin. Despite the unknown origin and extent of the injury, the facility did not submit a Facility Reported Incident (FRI) to the SA, as confirmed by review of the IQIES database and by the Administrator, who stated the facility did not investigate or report the injury because the family later suggested it could have occurred during transport to the facility. However, an interview with a family member and a verified audio recording from the evening of 02/03/26 showed the family repeatedly asking staff how the resident sustained the injury, requesting an earlier x-ray due to the severity of the RLE injury, and reporting that the resident was vomiting and had a decline in cognition from normally alert and oriented to person, place, time, and situation to being oriented only to person. The family did not state that the injury occurred during admission transport in this recording. There was no documentation of an investigation by the facility to determine whether the injury was related to abuse or neglect, and the injury of unknown origin was not reported to the SA as required.
Penalty
Resources
Below are regulatory guidelines relevant to this citation:
Trusted data from CMS and state health departments
Every citation, penalty and Plan of Correction is sourced from public CMS records (latest release October 8, 2026) and official state health department websites — never guesswork.
In your survey window? See what surveyors are citing.
The Survey-Prep Report maps your facility's risk from 12 months of CMS and state citation data — what's being cited around you and what to check first. $129 one-time.