Failure to Follow Out-on-Pass Procedures and Care Planning Requirements
Summary
The deficiency involves the facility’s failure to follow its own policy and procedure for residents going out on pass (OOP) and to develop OOP care plans for three residents. The facility’s policy required staff to obtain a physician’s order that included the reason for the pass (medical or social) and to complete a Release of Responsibility for Leave of Absence form with specific information. For one resident with epilepsy, COPD, and neutropenia, who had documented capacity and no cognitive impairment, a physician’s order allowed OOP not to exceed four hours but did not state the reason for the pass. The progress note documented that the resident left OOP on a specific date and time, but there was no completed Release of Responsibility for Leave of Absence form. For a second resident with HTN, type 2 DM, and chronic kidney disease, who also had capacity and no cognitive impairment and required partial to moderate assistance with ADLs, a physician’s order allowed OOP for therapeutic purposes. A Release of Responsibility for Leave of Absence form existed for this resident, but it was undated by year and incomplete: it documented the time the resident left and the date, but did not include the time of return, a phone number where the resident could be reached, or the nurse’s signature. For a third resident with epilepsy, CHF, and ESRD, whose H&P indicated fluctuating capacity but whose MDS showed no cognitive impairment and a need for partial to moderate assistance with ADLs, a physician’s order allowed OOP not to exceed four hours but did not state the reason for the pass. This third resident reported having gone OOP one or two times and believed nurses signed an OOP form at the nurse’s station, but stated that nurses had not asked the resident to sign or complete any form before going OOP. The Release of Responsibility for Leave of Absence form for this resident showed an OOP to a mobile phone store, but lacked the time of return, a contact phone number, and the nurse’s signature. Interviews with an RN, the MD, and the DON confirmed that facility practice and policy required a complete physician’s order specifying the reason and destination, completion of the Release of Responsibility form with detailed information (including times, destination, contact number, and signatures), and development of an OOP care plan addressing interventions and mental capacity. The DON acknowledged that one resident had no Release of Responsibility form completed at all, two residents’ forms were incomplete, and none of the three residents had an OOP care plan developed.
Penalty
Resources
Below are regulatory guidelines relevant to this citation:
Trusted data from CMS and state health departments
Every citation, penalty and Plan of Correction is sourced from public CMS records (latest release August 26, 2026) and official state health department websites — never guesswork.
In your survey window? See what surveyors are citing.
The Survey-Prep Report maps your facility's risk from 12 months of CMS and state citation data — what's being cited around you and what to check first. $129 one-time.