Failure to Report Injuries of Unknown Origin
Summary
The facility failed to report injuries of unknown origin for two residents after bruising and, in one case, bleeding were identified by staff. The facility policy defined injuries of unknown origin as unexplained injuries that are suspicious because of their extent, location, number, or recurrence, and required staff to immediately report suspected abuse to the Administrator or designee, with reporting to the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services no later than two hours after the allegation was received. For one resident, who had severe cognitive impairment, was dependent for toileting and personal hygiene, and was receiving warfarin for anticoagulant therapy with a care plan noting a risk for bleeding and instructions to avoid bumping and handle gently, a CNA notified an LPN of bruises on the right wrist, right bottom, and under the right armpit. The LPN also found dried blood on the corner of the resident’s mouth, blood specks on the bed, and small scratches that were bleeding on the sheets. The LPN completed a skin assessment, but the facility record showed no evidence that the bruising and bleeding were reported as an injury of unknown origin when discovered. During interview, the LPN stated the bruises and bleeding were not reported to administration because he/she did not think they were caused by abuse and was unsure what caused them. For a second resident, who had severe cognitive impairment and required varying levels of assistance with transfers, bathing, dressing, toileting, and personal hygiene, staff observed a large purple bruise on the back of the left upper arm and a large bruise behind the right leg with a knot in the center during a shower transfer. The CNA stated the bruise had not been seen before and that the resident had not fallen, yet the bruising was not reported to the DON or Administrator at the time it was identified. The next day, nursing documentation described bruising to the right calf and left upper arm with unknown etiology, and staff interviews showed the LPNs did not notify administration because they did not think the bruises were caused by abuse or because the event occurred on another shift. The DON stated no one told her about the bruising found on the resident.
Penalty
Resources
Below are regulatory guidelines relevant to this citation:
Trusted data from CMS and state health departments
Every citation, penalty and Plan of Correction is sourced from public CMS records (latest release August 26, 2026) and official state health department websites — never guesswork.
In your survey window? See what surveyors are citing.
The Survey-Prep Report maps your facility's risk from 12 months of CMS and state citation data — what's being cited around you and what to check first. $129 one-time.