Failure to Report Abuse, Neglect, and Injury Events
Summary
The facility failed to ensure that alleged violations involving abuse, neglect, exploitation, mistreatment, injuries of unknown source, and misappropriation were reported immediately or within the required timeframes to the administrator and other officials, including the State Survey Agency. The report identified that the Director of Nursing did not recognize a self-inflicted injury by a resident as an alleged neglect event on 9/16/2025, and the Administrator was not notified and did not report the event within 24 hours. The resident had diagnoses including dementia, mild cognitive impairment, major depressive disorder, generalized anxiety disorder, bipolar disorder, and insomnia, and the incident involved the resident drinking a half bottle of over-the-counter eye drops after stating she wanted to harm herself. The resident was assessed by the DON, confirmed the ingestion, and was transported by EMS to the hospital for a psychiatric evaluation. Hospital documentation reflected a high suicide risk level. Facility staff later described the event as a cry for help or an acute incident, and the DON stated she did not believe it needed to be reported to the state because the resident was being monitored by psych services and social work. The record review showed no indication that the incident was reported to the Administrator within 24 hours or reported to the State Survey Agency within the required timeframe. The facility also failed to report an incident in which one resident intentionally struck another resident with a walker on 8/31/2025. The incident report described the resident ramming a rolling walker into another resident’s legs while using profanity. The DON and Administrator stated the event was not reported because it was common behavior, did not result in harm, and they believed intent to harm was required for reporting. In addition, the facility failed to report an injury of unknown origin involving a resident with severe cognitive impairment and a history of traumatic subdural hemorrhage. The resident had a fall-related event on 7/25/2025, later showed a large contusion to the eyebrow, and was sent to the hospital where she was diagnosed with a pelvic fracture and subdural hemorrhage. The DON stated the unwitnessed fall was not reported because the resident said she fell and the resident had frequent falls.
Penalty
Resources
Below are regulatory guidelines relevant to this citation:
Trusted data from CMS and state health departments
Every citation, penalty and Plan of Correction is sourced from public CMS records (latest release August 26, 2026) and official state health department websites — never guesswork.
In your survey window? See what surveyors are citing.
The Survey-Prep Report maps your facility's risk from 12 months of CMS and state citation data — what's being cited around you and what to check first. $129 one-time.