F0760 F760: Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
E

PRN Opioid Medications Given Outside Ordered Pain Parameters

Lomita Post-acute Care CenterLomita, California Survey Completed on 12-11-2025

Summary

Resident 3 was admitted with diagnoses that included a nondisplaced longitudinal fracture of the left patella, fractures of the right pubis, and chronic pain syndrome. The MDS dated 3/29/2025 indicated the resident’s cognition was severely impaired and that the resident required varying levels of assistance with ADLs, including setup or clean-up assistance for eating, oral hygiene, and personal hygiene, moderate assistance for upper body dressing, and maximal assistance for toileting hygiene, showering, lower body dressing, and putting on or taking off footwear. The resident had active physician orders for pain monitoring and two PRN opioid medications: hydrocodone-acetaminophen 10-325 mg every 6 hours as needed for moderate pain and morphine sulfate oral solution 20 mg/5 mL, 1 mL every 4 hours as needed for severe pain. The order summary initially did not specify numeric pain-scale parameters for the medications. The MAR showed hydrocodone-acetaminophen was administered multiple times when the documented pain score was 7 or 8, and morphine sulfate was administered multiple times when the documented pain score was 6, which was outside the prescribed parameters for moderate pain and severe pain. The MAR for 11/1/2025 through 11/30/2025 showed seven hydrocodone-acetaminophen administrations outside the ordered moderate-pain range and nine morphine sulfate administrations outside the ordered severe-pain range. The MAR for 12/1/2025 through 12/10/2025 showed three hydrocodone-acetaminophen administrations outside the ordered moderate-pain range and three morphine sulfate administrations outside the ordered severe-pain range. During interviews, the DON stated each PRN order should have included a pain level so staff could determine the correct medication, and that giving both medications inaccurately or for the same pain level could increase the resident’s risk for drowsiness, sedation, respiratory depression, hospitalization, and death. An LVN stated hydrocodone-acetaminophen should not have been given for a pain level of 8 because that would be severe pain and morphine sulfate should have been given, and stated the facility should have clarified the orders that did not specify pain level.

Penalty

No penalty information released
tooltip icon
The penalty, as released by CMS, applies to the entire inspection this citation is part of, covering all citations and f-tags issued, not just this specific f-tag. For the complete original report, please refer to the 'Details' section.

Resources

Below are regulatory guidelines relevant to this citation:

See other F0760 citations
Significant morphine dose error
D
F0760 F760: Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
Short Summary

Significant morphine dose error: An RN administered 0.25 mL (5 mg) of morphine sulfate buccally instead of the ordered 0.1 mL (2 mg) dose to a resident with severe cognitive impairment, Alzheimer’s disease, CAD, and dementia. The RN said she followed the medication box label, while the unit manager confirmed the correct dose was on the EMAR. The resident was assessed afterward and remained unchanged.

No penalty information released
tooltip icon
The penalty, as released by CMS, applies to the entire inspection this citation is part of, covering all citations and f-tags issued, not just this specific f-tag. For the complete original report, please refer to the 'Details' section.
Insulin Pen Not Primed Before Administration
D
F0760 F760: Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
Short Summary

An LPN administered Humalog insulin to a resident with stroke, aphasia, and diabetes without priming the insulin pen as required by manufacturer instructions. The LPN dialed the ordered 5-unit dose but did not prime the pen with 2 units before injection, and later stated she was unaware of the need to prime it. The DON confirmed insulin pens should be primed according to the manufacturer's instructions.

No penalty information released
tooltip icon
The penalty, as released by CMS, applies to the entire inspection this citation is part of, covering all citations and f-tags issued, not just this specific f-tag. For the complete original report, please refer to the 'Details' section.
Significant medication error involving crushing a do-not-crush ER medication
D
F0760 F760: Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
Short Summary

A resident with CHF and dysphagia had a medication error when an MA crushed and administered multiple morning meds, including Potassium Chloride ER, despite a provider order that it not be crushed. The facility policy required meds to be given as ordered and prohibited crushing do-not-crush, slow-release, and enteric-coated meds; the record also identified potassium chloride as a high-alert medication.

No penalty information released
tooltip icon
The penalty, as released by CMS, applies to the entire inspection this citation is part of, covering all citations and f-tags issued, not just this specific f-tag. For the complete original report, please refer to the 'Details' section.
Significant medication errors from delayed and missed ordered medications
G
F0760 F760: Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
Short Summary

Two residents experienced significant medication errors when ordered meds were not available or not administered as prescribed. One resident on hospice went more than 24 hours after admission without ordered Morphine for pain and air hunger, while another resident missed multiple doses of a Lidocaine patch and Mirabegron because the meds were out of stock or not obtained from the pharmacy, with the DON confirming the missed doses and unrelieved pain were significant.

No penalty information released
tooltip icon
The penalty, as released by CMS, applies to the entire inspection this citation is part of, covering all citations and f-tags issued, not just this specific f-tag. For the complete original report, please refer to the 'Details' section.
Medication Order Transcription Error and Duplicate Pain Patch Application
D
F0760 F760: Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
Short Summary

A resident with moderately impaired cognition and cerebral amyloid angiopathy had a weekly buprenorphine patch order inaccurately transcribed as Suboxone on the MAR. Staff also applied a new pain patch without removing the old one, leaving two active patches on the resident for several days. The DON stated the admission verification process was not followed and the incident was not investigated.

No penalty information released
tooltip icon
The penalty, as released by CMS, applies to the entire inspection this citation is part of, covering all citations and f-tags issued, not just this specific f-tag. For the complete original report, please refer to the 'Details' section.
Missed Insulin Dose Due to Medication Unavailability
D
F0760 F760: Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
Short Summary

A resident with DM2 and multiple chronic conditions had an order for daily insulin glargine, but an RN documented that the dose was not given because the medication was unavailable. An LPN stated staff should reorder meds when five doses remain and, if out, notify the provider and pharmacy and use the emergency medication supply system; an RN and the DON confirmed backup insulin was available in a lockbox, and the DON noted there was no documentation explaining the omission.

No penalty information released
tooltip icon
The penalty, as released by CMS, applies to the entire inspection this citation is part of, covering all citations and f-tags issued, not just this specific f-tag. For the complete original report, please refer to the 'Details' section.
Citation search

Search every citation & Plan of Correction

Go to search
Citation watch

Track new serious citations across California

Get a heads-up on the newest immediate-jeopardy (J–L) citations in California — where surveyors are focused right now.

Free · about one email a month

Trusted data from CMS and state health departments

Every citation, penalty and Plan of Correction is sourced from public CMS records (latest release October 8, 2026) and official state health department websites — never guesswork.

In your survey window? See what surveyors are citing.

The Survey-Prep Report maps your facility's risk from 12 months of CMS and state citation data — what's being cited around you and what to check first. $129 one-time.

Get the Survey-Prep Report
An unhandled error has occurred. Reload 🗙

Connection lost — reconnecting… We couldn't reconnect automatically. Please reload the page to continue.