F0756 F756: Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
E

Failure to Act on Pharmacy Recommendations

Deer Meadows Rehabilitation And NursingAbingdon, Virginia Survey Completed on 08-06-2024

Summary

The facility staff failed to act on pharmacy recommendations for four residents, leading to deficiencies in medication regimen reviews. For Resident #83, the facility did not provide evidence of completed pharmacy recommendations for September 2023 and May 2024. Despite the pharmacist's notes indicating that medication regimen reviews were completed, the Assistant Director of Nursing (ADON) was unable to locate the recommendations. The facility's policy requires that written communications from the pharmacist become a permanent part of the resident's medical record, which was not adhered to in this case. Resident #8's drug regimen review from May 2024 was not reported to or acted upon by the medical provider. The resident's clinical record indicated a recommendation for a gradual dose reduction of Divalproex, which was not addressed as the medication remained active. The facility's policy mandates that staff act upon all recommendations, but this was not followed, as evidenced by the missing signature from the medical provider on the recommendation report. For Resident #28, the facility failed to provide evidence of drug regimen reviews being reported and acted upon for several months. Recommendations regarding medication adjustments and oral care were not addressed in a timely manner, with some actions delayed by months. Similarly, Resident #56's medication regimen review recommendation for an AIMS assessment was not addressed by a medical provider, and no evidence of the assessment was found in the resident's clinical record. These failures highlight a pattern of non-compliance with the facility's policy on medication regimen reviews.

Penalty

No penalty information released
tooltip icon
The penalty, as released by CMS, applies to the entire inspection this citation is part of, covering all citations and f-tags issued, not just this specific f-tag. For the complete original report, please refer to the 'Details' section.

Resources

Below are regulatory guidelines relevant to this citation:

See other F0756 citations
Failure to Report Medication Irregularities and Drug Interactions
D
F0756 F756: Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
Short Summary

A resident with colon cancer, seizures, hypotension, muscle weakness, and impaired cognition had a Depakote dose and frequency documented below usual dosing guidance, along with repeated severe and moderate drug-to-drug interaction alerts involving Ativan, Depakote, phenytoin, and lorazepam. An LVN and the ADON confirmed the nurse acknowledged the alerts but did not notify the MD, and the pharmacy consultant stated the facility had not reported the medication irregularities or interactions.

No penalty information released
tooltip icon
The penalty, as released by CMS, applies to the entire inspection this citation is part of, covering all citations and f-tags issued, not just this specific f-tag. For the complete original report, please refer to the 'Details' section.
Failure to Process Pharmacy Recommendation to Discontinue Medication
D
F0756 F756: Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
Short Summary

Failure to process a pharmacy recommendation led to a resident continuing Zinc Sulfate despite the pharmacist’s documented recommendation to discontinue it. The resident had diabetes and neuropathy, intact cognition, and the NP signed the recommendation, but no stop order was entered and nursing continued documenting administration on the MAR. The DON stated the signed recommendation was not provided to nursing, and the Administrator was unaware the order change had not been processed.

No penalty information released
tooltip icon
The penalty, as released by CMS, applies to the entire inspection this citation is part of, covering all citations and f-tags issued, not just this specific f-tag. For the complete original report, please refer to the 'Details' section.
MRR Not Reviewed by Physician
D
F0756 F756: Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
Short Summary

MRR documentation for a resident with anemia, atrial fibrillation, and HTN was not signed by the physician as required. The consultant pharmacist's monthly MRRs were instead signed by a PA, and the DON confirmed this during interview.

No penalty information released
tooltip icon
The penalty, as released by CMS, applies to the entire inspection this citation is part of, covering all citations and f-tags issued, not just this specific f-tag. For the complete original report, please refer to the 'Details' section.
Pharmacist Review Failed to Identify Medication Monitoring and Indication Issues
D
F0756 F756: Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
Short Summary

A pharmacist review failed to identify and follow up on medication irregularities for two residents. One resident receiving montelukast had a BBW monitoring need noted in the MRR, but no care plan was in place for the required monitoring. Another resident with dementia had a donepezil order written for cognitive impairment instead of dementia, and the consultant pharmacist made no recommendation to clarify the indication despite staff confirming the diagnosis was incorrect.

No penalty information released
tooltip icon
The penalty, as released by CMS, applies to the entire inspection this citation is part of, covering all citations and f-tags issued, not just this specific f-tag. For the complete original report, please refer to the 'Details' section.
Failure to Monitor Psychotropic Medication Use
D
F0756 F756: Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
Short Summary

Failure to monitor psychotropic medication use: A resident with PLS, DM, and psychotropic orders for duloxetine, lorazepam, and quetiapine had hospice notes showing decreased behaviors and hallucinations, yet pharmacy psychotropic reviews continued to question whether a GDR was indicated and the provider deferred to hospice. The resident’s TAR later documented ongoing anxiety/hallucination episodes, and the DON stated she needed to speak with the Medical Director and Hospice MD about the resident’s psychotropic meds.

No penalty information released
tooltip icon
The penalty, as released by CMS, applies to the entire inspection this citation is part of, covering all citations and f-tags issued, not just this specific f-tag. For the complete original report, please refer to the 'Details' section.
Failure to Act on Pharmacist Recommendations for Psychotropic Medication
D
F0756 F756: Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
Short Summary

A resident with severe cognitive impairment, dementia, insomnia, and other diagnoses was prescribed trazodone for insomnia, and the consulting pharmacist recommended psychotropic consent and sleep monitoring. The resident’s record lacked evidence that consent was obtained or that sleep monitoring was completed, and RN and DON interviews confirmed the recommendations were not carried out timely.

No penalty information released
tooltip icon
The penalty, as released by CMS, applies to the entire inspection this citation is part of, covering all citations and f-tags issued, not just this specific f-tag. For the complete original report, please refer to the 'Details' section.
Citation search

Search every citation & Plan of Correction

Go to search
Citation watch

Track new serious citations across Virginia

Get a heads-up on the newest immediate-jeopardy (J–L) citations in Virginia — where surveyors are focused right now.

Free · about one email a month

Trusted data from CMS and state health departments

Every citation, penalty and Plan of Correction is sourced from public CMS records (latest release August 26, 2026) and official state health department websites — never guesswork.

In your survey window? See what surveyors are citing.

The Survey-Prep Report maps your facility's risk from 12 months of CMS and state citation data — what's being cited around you and what to check first. $129 one-time.

Get the Survey-Prep Report
An unhandled error has occurred. Reload 🗙

Connection lost — reconnecting… We couldn't reconnect automatically. Please reload the page to continue.