Failure to Timely Report Abuse and Injury of Unknown Origin
Summary
The facility failed to report alleged abuse and an injury of unknown origin to the State Survey and Certification Agency in accordance with state law for three residents reviewed for abuse. The report states the facility did not ensure an alleged verbal abuse incident involving a cognitively intact resident was reported, did not ensure an alleged sexual abuse incident involving a resident with severe cognitive impairment and a traumatic brain injury was reported in a timely manner, and did not ensure an injury of unknown origin involving a resident with severe cognitive impairment was reported within the required timeframe. For one resident, the record showed a grievance documenting that an LPN was in the resident’s face, yelling, while the resident cried over pain medication not being administered as ordered. The resident later stated the LPN had yelled at her, scared her, and continued to be assigned to her despite her request that he no longer be her nurse. The staff development coordinator and DON both described the interaction as involving raised voices and fear, but the incident was not reported to the State Agency as alleged verbal abuse. For another resident, CNA #10 witnessed the resident performing oral sex on the resident’s guardian in the bathroom. The facility’s investigation documented that the resident had severe cognitive impairment, a BIMS score of 4, and was assessed as unable to give sexual consent. The investigation also documented that the guardian later confronted the resident in an aggressive manner and that the court was notified and guardianship was suspended. The incident was not reported to the State Agency until 13 days after the witness observed it. For a third resident, CNA #2 noticed a bruise on the resident’s face and reported it to the nurse after asking the resident how it occurred. The resident did not explain the bruise. The facility’s investigation identified the bruise as an injury of unknown origin at the time it was first reported, but the facility did not report it to the State Agency until the next day, more than 24 hours after it was first noticed.
Penalty
Resources
Below are regulatory guidelines relevant to this citation:
Trusted data from CMS and state health departments
Every citation, penalty and Plan of Correction is sourced from public CMS records (latest release August 26, 2026) and official state health department websites — never guesswork.
In your survey window? See what surveyors are citing.
The Survey-Prep Report maps your facility's risk from 12 months of CMS and state citation data — what's being cited around you and what to check first. $129 one-time.